Vilja

The Hidden Depths of music that touches the Soul unlike anything written today

With midnight hov’ring close at hand,
this folk song from our native land
tells of a fairy in the wild
known as a vilja to ev’ry child.
The beautiful vilja, a witch of the wood,
was seen by a hunter who froze where he stood.
He threw off his rifle, forgetting the chase.
He barely could breathe at the sight of her face.
Passionate, forbidden love had overcome the lad that day.
With a sigh did our hunter fin’lly say:
“Vilja, o vilja, you’re not of this earth,
Take, take me now, though I’m mortal by birth.
Vilja, o vilja, I’ve lost all control
now that you’ve stolen my soul.”
The witch was looked surprised, yet she held out her hand.
She drew the young lad in her cave to command.
He fell in a trance, almost dying of bliss.
For no human maiden could kiss him like this.
Though he had been so well kissed,
for more the hunter did insist.
Bored, the witch vanished into morning mist
“Vilja, o vilja, you’re not of this earth,
Take, take me now, though I’m mortal by birth.
Vilja, o vilja, I’m yours to console,
now that you’ve gone and stolen my soul

Leave a Reply

